The World Doesn’t Owe You Any Favors

Your own misery and your own disillusionment are exactly that. YOUR OWN.

Disclaimer: Pointless rant alert.

Within my own (admittedly limited) scope of experience, I can say that this generation lives in a state of chronic dissatisfaction. It’s how we define ourselves. It’s how we feel comfortable. It’s like a second skin. Today I met a 24 year old who’s afraid he likes his job too much. I mean of course you can rationalize pretty much anything in your head if you wish. So sure, let’s agree that liking your job too much isn’t a great thing. He complained that it doesn’t leave time to do anything else. So I asked him what he wanted to make time for and guess what? He had no clue. He likes the IDEA of wanting to do something else, but he has no notion of what that is.

I feel like I want to wring his neck but then I stop dead in my tracks and think about if I’m really all that different. Probably not, if I’m being even a little honest. I think I like the glamour of the whole idea at times. But usually it’s just a default state of being. You get so comfortable being miserable that nothing else measures up. And don’t get me wrong, I AM comfortable. For instance, my day today was packed full with meeting friends, attending events, lunch, coffee, music.. the works. And I was very excited at the go but I had a constant nagging feeling that it would get fucked up somehow. Maybe that mindset is what caused it (self-fulfilling prophecy) but it did happen. And it’s almost a welcome feeling when it comes.

To me and every other discontented/ aimless/ frustrated individual out there, this quote from Reality Bites sums it up best:

“I mean, try at something for once in your life. Do something about it, but you know what? You better do it now, and you better do it fast, because the world doesn’t owe you any favors.”

So.. all I need now is a plan for the rest of my life.

2 thoughts on “The World Doesn’t Owe You Any Favors

  1. Ms. Paliwala. May I suggest that you leave these pointless rants alone. You just said it, nobody owes you any favors. What else can anyone tell ya?

  2. why do I get the feeling this pointless rant (hey your words, not mine!) was abruptly cut short? It started off like it woulf be longer. or seems that way anyway.

    My thoughts on it: who are you encouraging to “try something”? the fellow who hates his job or yourself?

Leave a Reply

