Let the games begin..

“And now you do what they told ya, now you’re under control

Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell me”

Killing in the Name! – Rage Against the Machine

 

Have you ever wondered what you would do in a state of anarchy?

Well I hadn’t, until today. To start off, my friends and I watched “Hannibal“, the very colorful sequel to “Silence of the Lambs“. If you haven’t seen the movies, they’re about an FBI agent’s rendezvous with a very intriguing and classy cannibal. It’s brilliantly done. I mean, the man eats people but you just cant hate him. You’re almost rooting for him in fact. He has impeccable taste, dresses like a cultured gentleman, knows obscure poetry and literature, enjoys the opera.. you get my drift. And he chooses his victims according to a measured and well reasoned criteria, not randomly going on a killing spree like a common maniac.

Coming back to anarchy. There’s a moment in the movie where Hannibal gives one man a chance to push his wheel chair ridden master (so to speak; he was his employer but treated him more like a slave) and let him plunge to his gruesome death to be devoured by wild boars in a field of mush. He says (I’m paraphrasing) “If you want to push him, go ahead. They’ll just think it was me”. The man in question doesn’t hesitate for a split second and off goes the wheel chair, straight to the boars. Annoying, pompous, unbearable master I do admit. But he just calmly pushed him down to be eaten. And I was left feeling very satisfied.

Which makes me wonder. Would I? Would we? I know its a movie and its just for entertainment value and all that. But would we? If anarchy prevailed and we had the chance to do something “wrong” we wouldn’t do under normal circumstances and walk away with a clean slate, what would anyone do?

Then, there’s this incident with two of my friends, lets call them RF and AP. RF pointed out that if given half an opportunity, AP uncontrollably “lights things on fire” (okay, RF didn’t really say that, I’m using code. To protect our privacy. Hah, see the irony there?). By opportunity RF means lack of knowledge and/or intervention by friends, family, parents, whoever. What RF means is, AP’s habit needs supervision. And I wonder what they’d do if there was none.

I can think of no less than three people I would push if I was the pusher and they were the pushees. But then again, I’m a little star struck with Dr. Hannibal Lecter so maybe today is not the best day for this judgement call. On a lighter note, I finally see an intelligent, well dressed, charming, cultured man.. and he’s a cannibal in his spare time. What’s a girl gotta do?!

One thought on “Let the games begin..

Leave a Reply

